For The Love Of Reading

So today I want to share with all of you something that I love and that is, reading! People who know me, know just how passionate I am about reading and some of my most difficult shopping decisions are about what book I should buy. I’ve been reading since I was a child, I have read countless number of books over the years and until now my favourite hobby and way to relax is to read a good book.

image
This is one of my several bookcases ๐Ÿ™‚

I will carry a book with me everywhere and I if I had the time I can finish a whole book in a day. Books and reading is a huge part of my life, I honestly can’t imagine not reading. When I am super busy I barely get to read and I miss it so much I will stay up a it later than usual just so I can read, even if it’s only a few chapters. Once I’m hooked on a book I can barely put it down and I will go through a huge range of emotions. I feel the sadness, anger, pain, heartbreak, happiness, joy, love that the characters feel. And to me that’s a sign of a really good book!

I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading, how much sooner one tires of any thing than of a good book. – Jane Austen

Many people I know just don’t like to read they haven’t picked up a single book since they left school. But for me reading is something I could never give up completely and I think it’s because it’s so instilled within me. My whole family are avid readers. My parents and all my sisters, my parents house has books piled up high in every single room, so much so, that we’ve had to put books in our attic to make more space!

It was my parents that first got me into reading, they would take us to the library almost every Saturday as kids. It was there that I first discovered my love for reading. I still remember the books I read that got me into reading, The famous five series and The secret seven series by Enid Blyton. I still love these books today. But the books that really made me fall in love with reading is the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.

I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book. – J.K. Rowling

I literally grew up with Harry, Ron and Hermione and I related to them so much. I still remember that I insisted that my dad take me to Asda at midnightย to get the 5th book as it was released. I just had to have it the same day and I read it all the same day. Even now I still consider it to be one of my all time favourite series. I love reading YA fantasy books, that feeling of being transported into a whole different world and the epic adventure you go on…ahhh I just can’t get enough! I have a “to read” pile that never ends! There’s just so many good books being released every month!

You can’t get a cup of tea big enough or a book long enough to suit me. – C.S. Lewis

As a teenager I met others who loved reading as much as I did and we instantly became friends. When book nerds unite we can literally talk about books for hours, gush more like. Most of the friends I made through a mutual love of reading eventually became my best friends and we will still talk for ages about books we’ve read.

But it’s not only fiction that I love, I learnt a lot about Islam through reading initially. And even now I use these resources to develop my understanding of Islam. I mean after all the first word revealed in the Quran was Read.

So this leads me onto something else I want to share and that is that not only is reading a great way to relax but there are so many benefits of reading! Something which I hope to share with you soon.

If there are any readers out there do comment below! It’s always lovely to speak to fellow book nerds!

Book nerd and proud! ๐Ÿ™‚

Published by

Musings of a Muslimah

I'm a physiotherapist and hijama therapist and happily married Alhamdulillah. This blog is me writing what I learn at my classes and what goes on in my head, my way of taking some time out and reflecting and sharing my thoughts on what I see in society.

8 thoughts on “For The Love Of Reading”

  1. Loved your post. I’ll just say this: I’m rereading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and I accidentally called one of my students Cedric, his name is Dominic, and I think it’s going to become a habit ๐Ÿ™ˆ #foreveraharrypotterfan

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I know, it’s my favourite series โค He just stayed quite ๐Ÿ˜Š happy reading, and I’m going to try and give those books a read inshAllah. Have you read The Alchemist? I loved that book too.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have it but I haven’t read it yet. It’s one of the many on my TBR but Ive heard good things about it. Hopefully will get round to reading it soon. Oh I don’t know if you know about Harry Potter book night? It’s coming up in a few days and book stores etc all over the world host HP events which are so much fun!

        Like

  2. Assalamualaykum ~ I’m a fellow book nerd too ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ’• I thoroughly enjoyed reading through your journey of how you came to love books and I think it truly is amazing how beneficial and powerful it is, to read as it plays such a large role in educating us and gifting us with knowledge ~

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t actually have a particular favourite type tbh. Growing up I was engrossed in the famous five too, and all kinds of mystery/action/adventure books, but lately, I’ve been branching out and reading different kinds of books. (:

        I know this may sound like a super difficult question, but have you got any particular favaourite authors? Other than J.K Rowling ๐Ÿ˜‰ since you mentioned her books above.

        Like

      2. I actually love reading YA fiction, I love fantasy/dystopian/crime/sci-fi and there’s so many amazing authors at the moment! But some of my absolute favourites are Rick Riordan, Leigh Bardugo, Sabaa Tahir, Na’ima B. Robert and Marissa Meyer. Like these are the authors that I love all their books and if you like fantasy you will love their books.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

