Ramadan Reflection – Eat from the Good

O you who have believed, eat from the good (i.e. lawful) things which We have provided for you and be grateful to God if it is (indeed) Him you worship. Quran (2:172)
As I was reading this ayah, it made me reflect on so many things. Especially as I came across it during Ramadan a time in which we tend to feast daily.
Allah here tells us to eat from that which is good. But the arabic here isnt halal but tayub. We all know we can only eat halal but how many of us eat the “good” food within the halal? Eating deep fried food all the time is not eating good. Neither is eating junk or fast food. All of these however are halal to eat.
So not only is it important for us to eat halal food we should be eating good (tayub) food. But what is good food? Most people think of salad and fruit but I think its much deeper than that. We should eat ethical, organic food. So our fruit and veg and even our meat should be ethically sourced and organic as much as possibly. We should eat everything in moderation so having a samosa once in a while is okay! But having several daily is not good for us.
Then Allah says which We have provided for you. This again made me think. We all think that we earn the money, we buy and cook the food so we provided it to our family. But no, Allah is reminding us that He provides the food. We need to change our mindset even with what we eat and how we get this food.
Then Allah tells us to be grateful. Something that I’ve noticed that we generally are not good at. We criticize the food, we complain about whats been cooked. We hardly ever thank the person who probably spent hours making the food for us. Especially if its a family member thats made it for us. If we can’t be grateful to the people who have given us the food how will we be able to be grateful to Allah?
Allah connects being grateful to Him to worshipping Him. So if we aren’t grateful for what He has provided us then will we be able to truly worship Him in the way that He deserves?
I learnt so much from one ayah. That we should eat the good halal food that Allah has provided for us. That we should be grateful to Him and that gratitude is connected to worshipping Allah.

Published by

Musings of a Muslimah

I'm a physiotherapist and hijama therapist and happily married Alhamdulillah. This blog is me writing what I learn at my classes and what goes on in my head, my way of taking some time out and reflecting and sharing my thoughts on what I see in society.

Leave a Reply

