Ramadan Reflection

Last night after iftar I literally passed out from my migraine. To wake up an hour later thinking I need to clear up the kitchen, only to find that my husband has cleared everything so that I can rest. He stayed home instead of going taraweeh and prayed at home so he could look after me as I had double vision (aren’t migraines amazing!).
It was at this moment I truly understood what true love is. I understood the ayah that speak about marriage and the husband wife relationship on a whole new level.
It isn’t about the fancy gifts we give each other or the holidays we go on or the restaurants we go to. It’s about being there for each other when we are at our weakest. It’s about caring for each other when we need them most. It’s supporting each other when we feel like nothing will get better.
Today I truly understood what the ayah means when Allah says they will be the coolness of our eyes. When Allah says that we are garments for one another. That we should live in tranquility with one another. That He has put love and mercy between our hearts.
Because at that moment I felt the peace and tranquility when I looked at him. I saw how he cared for me. How he covered me and looked after me. I saw that it was his love and mercy for me that he did all this for me. I truly felt that coolness when I looked at him. And I realised that the most important moments of our marriage are times like this. At this moment I truly felt thankful for the amazing husband I was given. Alhamdulillah.
And through this I felt closer to Allah. I felt a connection with Allah. That I was able to truly be thankful to Him for my husband. And then I realised that this is why Allah tells us that these are signs for those who reflect. Because our marriage and especially these moments in our marriage are signs to lead us to Him.

Published by

Musings of a Muslimah

I'm a physiotherapist and hijama therapist and happily married Alhamdulillah. This blog is me writing what I learn at my classes and what goes on in my head, my way of taking some time out and reflecting and sharing my thoughts on what I see in society.

6 thoughts on “Ramadan Reflection”

Leave a Reply

