“She might as well take off her hijab”

I often hear people say “she might as well take off her hijab” she made a mistake and so now people think shes no longer worthy of wearing a hijab. Because she isn’t perfect. But Allah does not expect perfection from us. He wants us to strive for excellence. But excellence isn’t perfection. No human being is perfect and we weren’t designed to be perfect.

And we fail to see that one of the most emphasized attributes of Allah is that he is the most forgiving. Why would we seek His forgiveness, His mercy, why would we turn to Him if we were perfect?

By telling her that she should take it off you’re saying that she wasn’t perfect, she wasn’t an angel so she might as well stop trying. Allah is not all or none.

By having this expectation we are actually aiding the shaytan. We say that she should stop trying because she isn’t perfect and thats exactly what the shaytan wants us to do.

Expecting perfection from someone who cannot be perfect can lead to despair and hopelessness. Then people will stop striving. This is the danger that expecting perfection can have.

So lets stop telling girls who wear hijab that they should take it off after every mistake they make because we are not perfect ourselves. And remember that the prophet (saw) told us that every human being will sin but that the best of us will be those who repent. So we know that we will all make mistakes but that it doesn’t stop us from being a good Muslim as long as turn to Him and repent.

So whether she wears a hijab or not she will make mistakes, she will fall but don’t tell her to give up instead help her to stand up after her fall.

Published by

Musings of a Muslimah

I'm a physiotherapist and hijama therapist and happily married Alhamdulillah. This blog is me writing what I learn at my classes and what goes on in my head, my way of taking some time out and reflecting and sharing my thoughts on what I see in society.

7 thoughts on ““She might as well take off her hijab””

  1. Yes been there. God I really dislike that. I remember my Hospitalisation and the team of doctors telling me I was hiding behind my hijaab and those clothes and I remember the shock . I said but this is how my mum and dad taught me to dress.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

