Live like a traveller in the Dunya

So I’m moving houses once again, this will be my third move in under a year subhanAllah. As I’m packing once again I have been thinking about how we get so attached to the place we live. We become accustomed to having things a certain way and we don’t like change. One of the most stressful life events is moving homes! Me and my husband are not just moving homes but we’re also moving far away from our family and friends. So I’m feeling really emotional. I’m excited and sad, I’m happy and stressed, I’m looking forward to it but also thinking I don’t want to move so far. I’m feeling everything at once.

But as I sat here thinking about how annoying it is to have to move again and again especially as I had just started to get used to where we live it reminded me of a hadith.

The prophet (saw) said: Be in this world as if you were a stranger or a traveller. (Bukhari)

Moving home a lot actually helps us to realise that this isn’t our permanent home. That no matter how much we love to live in a specific place we will eventually have to leave it. So we should always keep that in mind and not allow ourselves to love our homes so much that we can’t bear to leave it if we need to. But that is really hard. We want to find a house where we can live long term, where we can build our home with our family, raise our children. We want to decorate our homes and make it look nice and beautiful. We spend lots of money in making a house our home. So then we don’t want to leave.

But it’s halal for us to have a nice home so shouldn’t we want to make it look nice? How can we balance between loving where we live and not being so attached to it that we can’t bear to leave? We want to have the things from the dunya but how can we stop ourselves from becoming materialistic?

Ali ibn Abi Talib said: Asceticism (Zuhd) is not that you should not own anything, but that nothing should own you.

So we learn from this that it’s okay to have a nice home but in wanting a nice home we shouldn’t allow it to control what we do, especially if it causes us to commit haram, like taking a riba based loan. Everyone wants a place that they can call their own and make how they want but it’s not worth using haram means as it will only cause us misery in the hereafter.

Being grateful for what we have is also important especially if what you want may be out of your reach. I had never imagined living in a studio apartment when I got married and going from a 3 bedroom home to that was really difficult initially but alhamdulillah I got used to it and enjoy living here now which is why I feel sad about leaving.

If we have to leave our home we should keep in mind our permanent home in Jannah is waiting for us and that always brings me comfort because I know that even if my home in the dunya may not be how I would like, my home in Jannah will be better than anything I could ever imagine!

Al-Hasan Al-Basri said: The dunya distracts and preoccupies the heart and body, but al-zuhd (asceticism, not giving importance to worldly things) gives rest to the heart and body. Verily, Allah will ask us about the halal things we enjoyed, so what about the haram!

Published by

Musings of a Muslimah

I'm a physiotherapist and hijama therapist and happily married Alhamdulillah. This blog is me writing what I learn at my classes and what goes on in my head, my way of taking some time out and reflecting and sharing my thoughts on what I see in society.

7 thoughts on “Live like a traveller in the Dunya”

  1. As salamu aleikum,
    This is my favorite hadith.
    I also love to change my home and I idn’t like to settle permanetly because when I rest too long in a place, I start to do weird things, like buying expensive things, which I know, I did not need, I would never buy it in an other situation. Also I am feeling not good when I can not change my home. I am feeling kind of captured when I stay too long in a place. At this time I have some financial problems so I have to stay here for some years, and I feel like I am in a cage. I wish to change, to move, to be free. I think this is also a test from Allah that I have to stay for a while, but inshallah I can move on.
    This is also why I named my own blog Muslimah Wanderer.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Subhanallah.
        You want to stay, but you have to move.
        I want to move, but I have to stay.
        This is life, I think this is our task to learn sabr and confience in Allah.
        May Allah give us, what is good for us and let us stay away from what is bad for us. 🙂
        It all has a reason and Allah is the best of Planners.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

