International Women’s Day – My Inspirations 

So it’s international women’s day and to celebrate I wanted to share with you some of the most inspirational women I have learnt about. I mean what better way to celebrate than to learn and use their legacy to improve and better ourselves?

 

So the first woman who I absolutely love is the mother of Imam Bukhari, she as a single mother raised this amazing man who gave us the most authentic book after the Quran, Sahih Bukhari. But you know what makes her so special to me? When Imam Bukhari was a child he became blind and it was his mothers dua that caused him to get his eyesight back. Just wow, seriously, just wow! How amazing must her ibadah and dua have been that Allah restored her sons eyesight for her. So he would not have been able to become the amazing man he became without his mother. InshaAllah when I do become a mother I hope that I can even be half as good of a mother a Imam Bukharis mother.
This next woman is who I want to meet more than anyone else in the world. Her name is Khadijah bint Khuwaylid (ra), the first wife of the Prophet (saw). I can’t even describe how much I love her, her manners, her love, her patience, she was a business woman, a wife, a mother, and how she managed to do all of this to be so successful in all aspects of her life just amazes me. You know that she is such a special and amazing woman because Allah, himself sent her salaams through Jibreel and even Jibreel gave her salaams, what an honour subhanAllah! But what I love most about her is her relationship with her husband. The most amazing relationship, she truly was the coolness of his eyes. Forget Romeo and Juliet, I want what Khadijah and the Prophet (saw) had. I hope that I can be even a little like her as a wife, a mother, a working woman, inshaAllah.
The third I want to tell you about is Nusayba bint Ka’b Al-Ansariyya she was one of the women who became muslim early on in Medina. She is most remembered for taking part in the Battle of Uhud in which she actually carried a sword and shield and fought against the Quraysh. She was the one who shielded the prophet (saw) sustaining injury after injury as she used herself as a shield to protect him (saw). Eventually when she fell unconscious it is reported that once she awoke her first question was if the prophet (saw) had survived. She was this courageous and strong woman who didn’t let the fact that she is “only” a woman stop her from doing what is right in the face of great trial and hardship. She is the type of woman I hope I can be like, strong, courageous and not afraid to stand up for the truth and protect it even if it means that she will be injured in the process.
There are so many more women I could talk about, I could go on forever, there are so many amazing women in our Islamic history and we, especially as muslim women should learn more about them so that we can see what it truly means to be a successful and strong woman that contributes to society and still is able to fulfil all her roles as a daughter, mother, wife, sister etc.
Published by

Musings of a Muslimah

I'm a physiotherapist and hijama therapist and happily married Alhamdulillah. This blog is me writing what I learn at my classes and what goes on in my head, my way of taking some time out and reflecting and sharing my thoughts on what I see in society.

Leave a Reply

