Al Mustafa – The Chosen One 

This weekend has been one emotional experience subhanAllah. I spent the weekend attending an Al Kauthar course called Al Mustafa The Chosen One. It was a course about the Prophet (saw) and spending the weekend learning about his life and the person that he was has made me love him even more. Sitting there hearing how he was with his companions made me wish I could be there with him, to spend even one day with him. But it wasn’t just a seerah course Shaykh Yahya Ibrahim taught us practical ways that we can implement his sunnah into our lives and in doing so be closer to him and Allah and become better Muslims.
As I benefited so much I thought I would share what I learnt so you could all benefit and know him (saw) a bit better. As there is so much I want to share I will do it over several blog posts inshaAllah.
After we say Prophet Muhammad we always say peace and blessings be upon him. And one of the first things we learnt was the many reasons why we say it. So I thought I would list a few here:
  1. Responding to the order of Allah
  2. Doing what the Angels do – it is an angelic quality to send blessings on him
  3. Every time you say it, 10 blessings come back to you
  4. It erases 10 of your sins
  5. It increases the likelihood of your personal dua being answered
  6. It safeguards against poverty
  7. It is a means of obtaining and retaining Allahs mercy
  8. It is a means of being physically closer to him on the day of judgement
  9. It compensates for your inability to give in charity
  10. It raises you 10 levels of where you will be in life

SubhanAllah these are just some of the reasons why we should send blessings upon him (saw). Just by saying a few words of blessings upon him we get so much benefit from it too.

We then went onto learn about his physical appearance and subhanAllah could a man be any more beautiful?
Just like everything else in his life his appearance was completely in balance. He was neither too tall or too short. He had dark black eyes and long eyelashes. He was neither white nor tanned. His body was well built, not skinny nor plump. The first thing everyone noticed about him was his eyes and his face shone like the moon. It is reported that it actually radiated light, subhanAllah. His body had a beautiful scent and his sweat smelled like musk. He neither walked too fast or too slow and he stood straight but not proud or slouched. He knew when to speak and when to be silent. He was a man of wisdom. How I wish I could see for myself how he looked after this discussion.
As impressive as his appearance was, his manners and characteristics were just as impressive. Even before he was given revelation, which was actually two thirds of his life he had special qualities which made him well known by everyone as the the truthful and trustworthy. He was always stood up against any injustice and inequality. He would never engage in any distasteful behaviour, helped the poor and needy, never lied or broke a promise. This was due to his strict adherence to justice. And he never submitted to anything aside from Allah, he would never take part in idol worshipping or any of the common practices at that time.
He had such an amazing character that everyone knew they could go to him and he would always give fair judgement using great wisdom.
Oh how I wish I could meet him. May Allah allow us to meet him in Jannah. Ameen.
Published by

Musings of a Muslimah

I'm a physiotherapist and hijama therapist and happily married Alhamdulillah. This blog is me writing what I learn at my classes and what goes on in my head, my way of taking some time out and reflecting and sharing my thoughts on what I see in society.

Leave a Reply

